jump to navigation

Random Thoughts.. March 6, 2009

Posted by Khawarizmiya in entertainment, memoir, Psycho, recovered from blogspot.
trackback

It’s around 3.15 pm, I’m at Khaldiya Campus, walking around the aisles of College of Engineering. I run into a couple of former colleagues, former students and former teachers. I greet them all with a big genuine smile on my face. Feels good to walk around the place where I’ve spent years as a student then as a teaching assistant.. “Muhandesaaaa!!”, I hear someone calling on me. I turn around, and it turns out to be one of my former C++ lab students. She hugs me, “We’ve missed you a lot around here! Where’ve you been?”. My smile grows bigger. One of my undergrad-studies professors greets me, he says: “After you and your friends graduated, I haven’t yet met students who are as smart & hard-working as you were”.. I thank him, nodding my head in great appreciation. On my way to the car I remember that around 4 or 5 points in my 25-things-about-me post revolved around college, and I can’t help wondering: Is this place my safe haven?

****************

I played Squash yesterday for the first time in my life and realized that this sport is not as easy as it seemed to be. I thought it was like tennis, and since I played tennis before I thought to myself when a friend suggested that we play Squash, “Hey, how hard can this be?”. The problem is, there isn’t enough time to watch where the ball is headed, unlike tennis, in order to take the best position to hit it back to the wall. The other problem is with that small black evil Squash ball, that it doesn’t bounce when it hits the ground. Forgetting this fact, I kept swinging the racquet where I shouldn’t have, hitting the air instead of the ball. I almost pulled off my shoulder couple of times, not to mention made myself look like a complete fool, unless this was a game of “Who hits the air faster”.

****************

Funny!! (from The Big Bang Theory):

Leonard: We need to widen our circle.
Sheldon: I have a very wide circle. I have 212 friends on myspace.
Leonard: Yes, and you’ve never met one of them.
Sheldon: That’s the beauty of it.
Penny: I’m a Sagittarius, which probably tells you way more than you need to know.
Sheldon: Yes, it tells us that you participate in the mass cultural delusion that the sun’s apparent position relative to arbitrarily defined constellations at the time of your birth somehow affects your personality.
Penny: (puzzled) Participate in the what?
Sheldon: This car weighs, let’s say, 4,000 pounds. Now add 140 for me, 120 for you…
Penny: 120?!?
Sheldon: Oh, I’m sorry. Did I insult you? Is your body mass somehow tied into your self worth?

****************

Kuwait Bloggers are meeting tomorrow. Wonder whether I should pass by & ask them why my blog is not listed in their aggregator, although it fulfills their requirements and I’ve sent them two requests so far!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

