jump to navigation

What Did This Ramadan Mean to You? September 14, 2009

Posted by Khawarizmiya in Islam.
trackback

Ramadan has always been a special month for me, one way or another.

It has been the month where I reassembled the disintegrated parts of my life and managed to strengthen my bond with God by turning to Him and finding the serenity that healed my heart and soul.

It has also always been the month where I recalled the purpose behind my life, and rearranged my priorities accordingly.

A crescent moon seen behind the King Hussein Bin Talal Mosque in Amman, Jordan on August 23, 2009, during Ramadan. (REUTERS/Muhammad Hamed)

A crescent moon seen behind the King Hussein Bin Talal Mosque in Amman, Jordan on August 23, 2009, during Ramadan. (REUTERS/Muhammad Hamed)

This Ramadan had a special flavor for me, though: Gratitude.

It is originally one of the main goals of Ramadan, to show gratitude for all the blessings sent to us from God. Fasting, refraining from eating or drinking from sunrise to sunset, grows that sense of gratitude and sympathy towards the poor, encouraging people to be more giving and helpful to those in need.

Thank you God.

I’m grateful, not just because I can afford to eat and drink, but this feeling has extended to all the blessings I’ve been given in my life and hardly even deserved them. It is amazing how one can get preoccupied with the satisfaction of daily biological needs or get swamped at work bad enough to forget to say thank you God – Alhamdu lellah.

Or even worse is the shameful feeling of not being grateful in the first place.

There is no such thing as a trouble-less life. Acknowledging that, and realizing that life is only but a series of tests, puts the pieces of the big picture together in great harmony. We all go through dark times, facing stacks of problems that seem unsolvable and extremely irritating at the time.  Looking back now at some of the old ones, you’ll find that some have been resolved already, others not; but most surprisingly, some of them might have turned out to be the beginning of a very pleasant twist in your life.

So, troubles are going to take place and your life will always be missing something. There is no such thing as a perfect life. The trick is not to allow what your life lacks to blind you from seeing what you already have – what you’ve been blessed with.

Think of how blessed you are just being able to read this post. Think of all the people who lost their eye-sight and how you weren’t one of them. They’ve been given other stronger senses that compensate for what they don’t have, surely, but just thinking of what it would’ve been like to be in their shoes is terrifying. Nevertheless, you stumble into some of these people who just amaze you with the amount of patience and devotion to God they practice despite of all the disabilities they’ve been destined to have.

Alhamdu-lellah.

I’m grateful for the big things, I’m grateful for the small things. I’m grateful that I can walk, that I can afford this laptop! I’m grateful for this month, for the opportunity to bond with God, to read his words and create a better understanding of life. And what better time than this holy month to show how grateful I am?

Alhamdu-lellah for Ramadan. Alhamdu-lellah for everything.

What did this Ramadan mean to YOU?


Comments»

1. Abdelrahman Elashry - September 14, 2009

This blessed month it means for me the month of repentance and forgiveness
And I can change my life for the better in it
So I spend nights this month to obey God

psychopathya - September 16, 2009

An opportunity for repentance and seeking God’s forgiveness. True, just the right month for that. Thank you!

2. Mariam Mahmoud - September 15, 2009

This specific Ramadan has been a test for my patience, endurance and how much I’d be willing to sacrifice for family. I can tell you, it ain’t easy..but you persevere and you keep reminding yourself of the 2ajr that awaits you, and in Ramadan especially it’s multiples of 2ajr, so Alhamdulelah… I think I can say I’ve developed a new tolerance and patience for everyone around me, when I normally would have complained or made my dislike obvious ( haha and we all know when I dislike something, I think I usually make it pretty obvious). I’ve also learned to be grateful for the life I’m living, and especially (and this is why I like living in non-Muslim countries) grateful for Islam and what it brings to my life. I’m constantly reminded of the blessing of Islam that I’m in when I watch the people around me struggling with their own peace of mind and finding their own purpose in life. Allaho dimha 3alayna ni3ma wa7fath-ha min 2al zawal.

psychopathya - September 16, 2009

Ameen! Wow, Mariam. Beautifully said.

-Developing a positive behavior such as being more tolerant and patient with people, and gradually giving up a negative attitude.

-Feeling grateful for what Islam brings to your life.

Inspiring.. Thanks for passing by.

3. Ali Keyvan - September 15, 2009

Ramadan is just like any other month, its just some kind of special way we look at it and we think there is something different with it.i think the specialty of this month comes from the way people look into it and assuming others will like them fast and practice to braking their bad habits and doing good things.this feeling of unity in doing good brings positivity to people’s mind and yes it feels special then.

psychopathya - September 16, 2009

Hey there Ali. Nice to have you pass by my blog.

The feeling of unity in doing good and avoiding bad deeds brings people together and adds the special touch to this month. Thoughtful. Thanks!

I still do think that Ramadan is special regardless of how people perceive it, because it’s the month when the Quran was revealed and the angels revisit earth :)

Ali Keyvan - September 17, 2009

thanks for replying my post! Hope that everything is going fine with u and once again congrats for ur graduation.
wa ma adraka ma laylatulghadr.well I dispute the idea that there is some kind of specific timing for laylatul ghadr. It might refer to a night which a person totally become close to god (the highest level of closeness) and be inspired by god and in such a night Quran was reveled to such person.I might be totally wrong but well it seems to me such.

the point is ramadan has no meaning for non-muslims( for almost 5billion people). and accordingly they feel nothing special during it so if there was something special with this month regardless of how people perceive it, they should also feel it but they dont.

4. psychopathya - September 16, 2009

Amen to that.
I know what you mean because I’ve had many Ramadans during which I had final exams or project submissions or something similar. Still though, the month always leaves a trace somehow! :)


Leave a Reply

